European Control Award

The “European Control Award” (ECA) is to recognize outstanding contributions by a young researcher in the area of systems and control. The award is sponsored by the European Control Association (EUCA), and is presented during the annual European Control Conference. The recipient must have spent a major part of his or her career in Europe and, at the time of the nomination, must be working in a research institution or company in Europe. The ECA award committee (independent of EUCA members) selects the candidate, which is then approved by the EUCA Council.


2024: Maryam Kamgarpour, EPFL, Switzerland

2023: Melanie ZeilingerETH Zurich, Switzerland

2022: Peyman Mohajerin Esfahani , Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

2021: Silvere Bonnabel, University of New Caledonia & Ecole des Mines ParisTech, France

2020: Florian Dörfler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

2019: Lorenzo Fagiano, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

2018: Antoine Girard, CNRS, France

2016: Ming Cao, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

2015 : Antonis Papachristodoulou, University of Oxford, UK

2014 : Luca Schenato, University of Padova, Italy

Award information 

3,000 EUR, a plaque, and travel expenses to the ECC (round trip restricted coach air fare, conference registration, and three conference-rate hotel nights). The recipient will give a plenary lecture during the final day of the ECC, describing a significant contribution to systems and control science or engineering.

To be eligible the nominee must be 40 years old or younger on 1st January 2025 (the year of the award) or satisfy the eligibility criteria for the ERC Consolidator grant of 2024 (have obtained their first PhD on or after January 1, 2012 with extensions as specified in the ERC regulations). See the website: for detailed eligibility criteria of the ERC Consolidator grant. Furthermore, the nominee must at the time of the nomination be working in a research institution or company in Europe, and have spent a major part of their career prior to nomination in Europe.

Basis for Judgment
Contributions to the theory or applications of systems and control.

Funded by the European Control Association and the ECC organization.

At the Awards Ceremony, or Banquet, of the ECC.

Award committee
Composed of 3 members, one of whom is the chairman. They are appointed by the EUCA Council.  The term of a committee member is 3 years.

Current members:


Jan Maciejowski (Chair)

Kristin Y. Pettersen

Arjan van der Schaft



Deadline: (30 November 2024) 

Nominations for the 2025 award must be submitted electronically to the EUCA secretary by 30 November 2024 ( The nomination package should be submitted as a single PDF file and must include (in the order listed):

  1. A motivation letter from the nominator
  2. The completed award nomination form, and
  3. 1-3 further supporting letters. The nominator and the authors of the supporting letters must not be members of the EUCA Council.

The committee then selects one award candidate and one runner-up, who are submitted to the EUCA Council for approval.

Download the European Control Award Nomination Form and award Regulations.